ZANU PF Calls For DCC Elections Rerun Due To Electoral Irregularities.

By Tafadzwa Mupfururirwa

HARARE – ZANU PF has ordered for fresh DCC Elections in some of its districts citing electoral irregularities.

Addressing the media after the ZANU PF Politburo meeting on Wednesday, Zanu PF acting spokesperson Patrick Chinamasa said results from almost every district have been accepted while rerun polls will be held in at least three disputed districts on December 28. Because of weather vagaries, elections that were supposed to be held on Saturday were extended, causing delays in the whole process, Chinamasa said.

“Overall, we are happy that the mission was accomplished, (elections) were held in a very peaceful atmosphere” said Chinamasa.

In Manicaland, results for all the eight districts, namely; Buhera, Chimanimani, Chipinge, Makoni, Mutasa, Nyanga, Zimunya-Marange and Mutare Urban were accepted.

However, in Mutare Urban the Politburo said a rerun should be held to fill in the position of chairman after an inconclusive poll.

In Mashonaland Central, results from Bindura, Mazowe, Shamva, Mt Darwin, Guruve, Muzarabani, Rushinga, Mbire districts were all accepted.

While in Mashonaland East results from all the districts, namely; Chikomba, Goromonzi, Marondera, Mudzi, Seke, Murehwa, Wedza, Uzumba Maramba Pfungwe were accepted.

In Mashonaland West, results from Chegutu, Hurungwe, Kadoma, Sanyati, Ngezi, Kariba, Zvimba, were all accepted while the results in Makonde they will be a rerun for the post of chairman.

The province of Masvingo has accepted results from all the districts namely Bikita, Chiredzi, Mwenezi, Chivi, Masvingo Urban, Gutu South, Zaka, while in Matabeleland North, results from Binga, Bubi, Nkayi, Lupane, Tsholotsho, Umguza and Hwange were all accepted amid indications that a petition could come from the district of Hwange while for Tsholotsho a rerun will be held for the post of chairman.

In Matabeleland South — results were accepted for all the districts namely, Beitbridge, Bulilima, Gwanda, Insiza, Mangwe, Matobo and Umzingwane — spending the presentation of a petition to the Command Centre in the last district.

In the Midlands province, results from Chirumhanzu, Gokwe North, Gokwe South, Gweru, Kwekwe, Mberengwa, Shurugwi, Zvishavane.

The two metropolitan provinces — Harare and Bulawayo — have already completed setting up of DCC structures in their respective provinces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

About us

The Harare Times. News Magazine.



Latest posts